Uncategorized

Cloth nappies, my proudest environmentally friendly decision I have made to date

When I had my first Son 3.5 years ago I only met one person in my 9 months maternity leave who used cloth nappies. We both attended a baby yoga class together. As we were all changing bums after the class I spotted the cloth nappies and intrigued, I asked a few questions.

Not long later I had concluded in my head that it would be way too hard to deal with cloth nappies and I will stick to my disposable nappies. But I never forgot about the cloth nappies (not just because the prints are super cute, but in my old age I am feeling like we need to all be more environmentally conscious).

When I was pregnant I went to my local cloth nappy library which is combined with our local sling meeting. It’s only a few Euro to enter and it’s run by volunteer mamas who are nappy guru’s. It was really informative. You can find your local nappy library here a long with lots of useful advice. Unfortunately the libraries are currently closed because of Covid-19.

You can also get a loan from the library. Some are still going, some are not. I think I paid 40 euro for a 5 week loan with loads of different nappies to try (interestingly my local one was run by the same mum I had met all those years ago!). The nappy library also does some postal loans which are still operating.

At the nappy library I got great advice. Don’t stress too much about doing cloth for the first few weeks. Get into a rhythm with baby first and then start. It also meant i didn’t need to invest in the newborn nappies, I went straight to “one size fits most” or “birth to potty” nappies. I bought a few bambino miosolos in the Aldi baby event (now stocked by Tesco, with Aldi releasing their own brand a few months ago, sadly with a few problems, so don’t by these to start with!)

Fluff mail from a great little retailer called @finchandbear

I ended up not really starting until 4 months, but eased myself into it. Once I got into a rhythm of how to boost them and wash them, I just love them. Unfortunately with covid creche can no longer use them but we will keep him in them at home as much as possible.

I have built up a stash of Bambino Miosolos, Baba and Boo, my cotton drawer (a lovely Irish brand) and bulked up the stash with some Little and Bloomz (a much cheaper brand made in China). I love the prints, designs and the feeling that I don’t have a big full black bin. And there is nothing more satisfying than a full nappy caddy!

If you are thinking about using cloth, feel free to ask a question!

Lots stuffed, folded and ready to use!

Leave a comment